“ID theft isn’t funny!” Infecting liberals’ computers with spyware?

Since my sites were down, and I totally forgot about the debate today, I decided to listen to http://www.airamericaradio.com/ and I believe it was Mike Malloy who was doing the “after debate” show. 

He gave out needsumwood-com[WARNING: MIGHT WANT YOU TO INSTALL MALICIOUS SPYWARE] for more laughs.  Of course I went to check it out and then I clicked on the link to the “Cool Ebay Auction” and there was this piece of wood for like $10 or so after a few bids.  I thought it was quite funny.

I read some more news and must have reloaded the needsumwood.com page because all of a sudden I got this obnoxious popup wanting me to install something. After clicking “no”, it wouldn’t go away and told me I had to click “yes.”

So I went back to the auction and submitted my question to the seller:

Q: What is the crap you want people install at http://needsumwood-com/? I’m assuming, this is your site, if not, who owns it?

A: Probably some spyware, don’t install it unless you have this piece of wood to protect you. The site is not ours.

A few other funny questions and answers and then my next question:

Q: People like you suck. There is no question, it’s a fact - you obviously know who owns http://needsumwood-com/ - scum!

A: Thanks for your kind words. We have no affiliation with the people at that site and if it is indeed filled with spyware and liberal propaganda we recommend you don’t go there.

I submitted one last question, it started with “ID theft is not funny!” and I don’t remember the rest because he didn’t answer yet - it’s not posted on Ebay.

So what happened here?  My take:

They set up the site right after the debate, knowing that a lot of liberals would be celebrating and it’s a Friday night, so probably lots of people do whatever they do to get their mind off a long week. 

They called the radio shows or e-mailed hosts with the URL.  People like Mike checked it out and then gave out the URL on the air.  Once the hits increased, they knew they got the promotions and added the spyware.

Obviously the wood seller ajimbostore must have had at least casual contact with the creators of the http://needsumwood-com/ to get the link for his Ebay auctions added to their site.  When he answered “The site is not ours” and “We have no affiliation with the people at that site” he sounds like someone who’s quite experienced in scamming.  He never said he didn’t know who owns the site and that’s of course because he does know them.

The auction for the “wood” is now up to $82,100 and I suppose there’s going to be a non paying high bidder.  There are lots of strange auctions on Ebay, but this has to be one of the stranger ones.

It’s sad to see what people go through to scam and defraud.  You can’t have a little fun without being subjected to crap. 

I saved the page with the “spyware” prompts in case it disappears and anyone suffers serious damages.  Who knows what it was, we may find out.  Maybe it’s a totally benevolent research project - researching how many people will install it.


Posted by Christine on 10/09/2004 at 03:32 AM
Links - not credit related • (3) CommentsPermalink

Hey there, I’m the owner of NeedSumWood.com, and I have no affiliation with the ebay auctions.  I was able to register and get the web page up really quickly, then saw someone on a messageboard linking to the ebay auctions, so I added their links to my site so it would have some content on it.
Unfortunately, an advertiser on my host that I promote through an ad-share program decided to run a spyware install, unknown to me.  It was reported to me after a couple of hours and I pulled all offending code that would point to that particular ad.
That advertiser has since been kicked off our ad-share program.
I apologize for any problems people may have gotten while visiting NeedSumWood.com during that time frame, and I assure you that the site is currently very safe to visit, and I’m adding new fun stuff to it all the time.

Posted by MattO  on  10/11/2004

It’s people like you who make this planet such an ugly place.

I’ve been meaning to post an update on this. By the time I went to bed Sunday morning, the auction had gone to over a million.  When I got up again, all the bids over $100 or so had been canceled and the auction was back to about $200.  Later both auctions were canceled.

YOUR site featured the penis ads.

At http://www.fight-back.us/forum/index.php?showtopic=163 creditmonitoringsucks posted some more info on the spyware.

Right now you advertise t-shirts and mugs instead of the one penis ad and you put google ads to replace the other.

And there’s still the

“LINKS THAT ARE NOT SAFE FOR WORK

Erotic Movie Exchange
URent DVDs(like Netflix but Adult)”

Oh, and further down is another penis ad, and there’s more Google ads at the top too - just noticed that as I went to close the page.  I hope I don’t have to go look at it again - don’t see anything funny, just idiotic ads.

If you are only half as stupid as you pretend to be, well, I’m trying not to be rude, so I won’t say what I think you should do. 

The planet would definitely be a better place without assholes like you.

Posted by Christine  on  10/11/2004

Oh Man I am LOL!!!!

Posted by Creditmonitoringsucks  on  10/12/2004

Name:

Email:

Location:

Smileys

Remember my personal information

Check for notification of follow-up comments. Due to SPAM only MEMBERS can submit comments. Sorry!

Submit the word you see below:


Moderation policy: Only constructive comments are approved. I DELETE comments containing only dribble and a link to some commercial site.

This is NOT a graffiti wall and you may exercise your FREE SPEECH at YOUR site.



Contact info & the listing of my other sites